The Bitterness Blog


Nobody Puts Baby in a Corner: RIP Patrick Swayze
September 15, 2009, 3:56 pm
Filed under: Musings of a Random Nature

So I’m a little sad today.  As I’m sure you’ve heard, Patrick Swayze died yesterday at the age of 57.  I would not classify myself as a big Swayze nut, but he was a pop culture icon in his day.  I generally dislike and avoid all movies that could fairly be deemed “chick flicks,” but I LOVE ME some Dirty Dancing.  I remember being a kid when it came out and hearing about it and having no real idea what “dirty dancing” meant but I knew it was terribly, terribly naughty and I wished to God I was old enough to know more about it.  Then I saw the movie for the first time when I was 9 and I loved it, and obsessed about it for a bit, and then I pretty much forgot about it until adulthood.  But it totally stands the test of time and if I see that it’s on tv, I don’t even turn to it unless I have time to sit and watch the whole thing because once I’ve started watching it, I am incapable of turning away.  I even hate dancing, and that movie makes me want to get married just so I have an excuse to learn the dance and do it at my reception.  Swazye is sexy as hell in it, and the average girl gets the guy.  And who doesn’t hold a soft spot in their hearts for Jerry Orbach?  God, I just want to watch it right now.  And despite rumors that Jennifer Grey and Patrick Swayze couldn’t stand each other in real life, in Dirty Dancing, they literally defined sexual tension:

oh loverboy...

oh loverboy...

I mean seriously.  I’m not sure I can think of another movie where the two leads exuded that much chemistry.  The movie is completely satisfying and coined one of the most classic film quotes of all time.  In a nutshell, greatness, and Patrick Swayze was essential to the formula that makes Dirty Dancing movie gold. 

And then there’s Ghost.  I don’t think it’s possible to watch that movie without full-on, snot-covered, hiccuping-sobs resulting.  I personally shy away from sex that incorporates anything which must be washed off afterwards with the exclusion of unavoidable bodily fluids, but the pottery scene is pretty great, sexy and romantic.  And those creepy shadow demons from hell had a rather profound effect on me at the time when the movie first came out.  I never really liked Demi’s haircut, but the movie had an excellent blend of humor, pathos and fear.  And it was another reason that Patrick Swazye will go down in cinematic history. 

Patrick, you will be missed.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

