The Bitterness Blog


Basic Planning 101: Be There For Your Own Meetings
September 23, 2009, 3:21 pm
Filed under: Work Bitching

Let’s say  I’m at work and I’m expecting visitors for a meeting at 11am.  You know what I would do?  I would be ready and waiting for those visitors from about 10:45 on.  I would go pee at like 10:40, or if I were a smoker, I would smoke a cigarette at 10:35ish and then go pee at 10:40 and spritz myself with some perfume because that shit stinks, and then I would either hang out in the lobby area to meet my guests upon their arrival, or I would be available at my desk so that when the receptionist called me to tell me they were here, I would be ready and waiting.  You know why?  Because it’s common courtesy, and it’s logical.  It’s called PLANNING AHEAD.  Or BEING PREPARED.  Or ACTING PROFESSIONAL.  Or NOT BEING A JACKASS WHO IS EITHER SO EGOTISTICAL THAT HE THINKS HE’S MAKING A POINT ABOUT HOW IMPORTANT HIS TIME IS BY KEEPING PEOPLE WAITING OR IS TOO STUPID TO READ A CLOCK.

So I’ve been at the new job for just over one month, and a coworker that we’ll call Dumbass has had visitors twice in that time.  And guess what?  Each time he has been nowhere to be found when his visitors arrived.  Hasn’t answered his phone,  hasn’t answered his email, nothing.  He sits on a different floor than I do, so it’s not like I can easily peek into his office to see if he’s there.  It’s rude to do this to his visitors, but more importantly, it annoys the crap out of me, because then I have people sitting in my space wanting to know why they are waiting, and they inevitably start suggesting that I call other people that work here that have nothing to do with this particular meeting but they know their names and figure those people will help them.  But you know what?  Those people can’t help, because they aren’t available, because they’re not expecting anyone. 

Portrait of Dumbass

Portrait of Dumbass

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

