The Bitterness Blog


Who’s Your Daddy?
November 6, 2009, 4:49 pm
Filed under: Work Bitching

It’s 11:10am and we have already had a total of 6 relatives of employees just “stopping by” for a little visit.  Three of the six were children and you know how I feel about children.  Some guy’s wife showed up with his two kids, one who is probably 4 years old and one who is probably 2 or under.  I’m not good with kids’ ages; they all look the same to me.  Anyways, the woman walked in with the smug look of someone who thinks her kids are the cutest things since baby wombats and who assumes that you will agree with her.  Well my friend, you’ve come to the wrong place.  So I politely asked who she was here to see and she turns to the older kid and says, “Tell her who we’re here to see, honey.”   The kid stood there looking dumbstruck for a bit and then managed to stutter out the words, “My daddy.”  Well that’s helpful.  His mother giggled to indicate she thought this was super cute, while my face probably looked like this:

youmustbekiddingme

Then she said, “Tell her his other name.  Can you remember what that is?” The kid looked at her like she was smoking crack because obviously, to him, Daddy is the only name Daddy has.  Finally she had to tell me herself who they were there to see, effectively wasting a solid 3 minutes of my time and about a year’s worth of my patience. 

It’s bad enough you brought your kids into my work place, lady.  Please don’t make me talk to them.

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

[…] to Work Day.  I feel like I really don’t even need to write about this, because I think it goes without saying how I felt about it.  I don’t care if it’s a nationally sanctioned day or not; unless you work in […]

Pingback by The Bitterness Blog




Leave a Reply

