The Bitterness Blog


The List of Awesome Continues to Grow
February 19, 2010, 6:35 pm
Filed under: Musings of a Random Nature

Because I don’t work, I’ve become accustomed to a certain kind of nocturnal schedule, so the evening of the day that I discovered my tv was broken, around 2am, I decided to microwave a cookie.  I like to bake cookies (from a roll of dough, obviously) but intentionally undercook them so the middle of the cookie is soft and chewy and barely holds together.  In order to make this happen, I have to put the cookie into the fridge as soon as it comes out of the oven so it doesn’t completely disintegrate, and then I reheat it later when I’m ready to eat it.  Awesome, right? I know.  And excellent with a glass of milk.

I was really confused when I microwaved the cookie for 20 seconds and it didn’t get any warmer, but hey, it had been in the fridge for a long time.  So I tried again.  Still nothing.  Then it dawned on me:  the microwave was broken.  That’s inconvenient but obviously not to be corrected at a 2am.  I went to bed warm-cookie-less (sniff, sniff).

The next morning I noticed a really weird noise coming from the front hallway, specifically from this box type thing on the wall.  I knew it was not the fire alarm because that is on the ceiling, but I really honest to God had never noticed that little box on the wall before.  Like if you held a gun to my head and said “True or false, there’s a little box on the wall in the front hallway right by the entrance to the kitchen, answer correctly or kiss your life goodbye” I’d be dead.  Whatever it was, it was making a weird, constant buzzing noise.  Turns out that box is somehow connected to the doorbell and guess what?  The doorbell is broken too.  List of broken things in my house:

tv

microwave

doorbell

my spirit

And score another one for me, because my life is AWESOME.


Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a comment